Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Disarming an Unarmed Opponent

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    406
    Rep Power
    89

    Default Disarming an Unarmed Opponent

    This came up in a Fight! I ran last Sunday. Two characters got into a fight, and escalated to swords and knives being drawn and used on each other.

    This is the House Swordmaster (G8 Sword skill) versus the Baron of the House (B6 or lower Knives).

    The Baron started it, so that the Swordmaster couldn't behead the slowly reanimating corpse of the Big Bad, the Baron's former friend. Wouldn't let him desecrate the body, and won the Speed versus to block the Swordmaster.

    The Swordmaster, not wanting to kill the Baron, scripted Disarm a few times in a row. The very first one worked. So when his subsequent disarms went off... what happens? Nothing?

    I ruled in the moment that they would count as Strikes, because what he scripted involves swinging his sword at the hands of his enemy, his hands being the only remaining weapon to target with Disarm.

    How would you have handled it?
    - Ben

    Twitter

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    722
    Rep Power
    214

    Default

    Maybe knock the weapon further away?
    -Mike

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Olavsman Cave
    Posts
    5,671
    Rep Power
    1672

    Default

    Hesitation.

    I corner him and stab him in the face!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    406
    Rep Power
    89

    Default

    Okay, I'll do that next time.
    - Ben

    Twitter

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    N Y C
    Posts
    14,512
    Rep Power
    3696

    Default

    He scripted poorly and should not have been rewarded. As Thor noted, his action is relegated to hesitation unless he forfeits and changes his second action to something else.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •