Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Multiple teams vs multiple teams. Who attacks who?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Leamington, UK
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    22

    Default Multiple teams vs multiple teams. Who attacks who?

    I've been working my way through the conflict rules of MG and it's all perfectly simple and straight forward thus far, but something occured to me and it doesn't appear to be covered in the book. What if you have multiple teams vs multiple teams? Who attacks who? Or more specifically, what do you do if one side focusses on one opposing team in particular. What does the un-attacked team do?

    For example. The players have Mouse team A and Mouse team B. The GM has Weasel team A and Weasel team B. Both Mouse teams decide to feint against Weasel team B. As per the rules, one mouse team assists the other in feinting against Weasel team B. All well and good but what does Weasel team A do?

    Let's say Weasel team A decided to attack Mouse team B. Are mouse team B considered to be feinting against Weasel team A for the purposes of resolving the volley, or do the Weasels get a totally unopposed (ob.0) attack?

    Crow
    Wayne Peters
    Senior Artist
    Blitz Games, Leamington

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Flushing, NYC
    Posts
    1,463
    Rep Power
    494

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scarecrow View Post
    For example. The players have Mouse team A and Mouse team B. The GM has Weasel team A and Weasel team B. Both Mouse teams decide to feint against Weasel team B. As per the rules, one mouse team assists the other in feinting against Weasel team B. All well and good but what does Weasel team A do?
    I believe Weasel Team A gets all its actions as independent tests against whichever mouse team it is opposing.
    Daniel H.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    N Y C
    Posts
    14,398
    Rep Power
    3646

    Default

    Page 114 isn't helpful?
    "Athos—Porthos, farewell till we meet again! Aramis, adieu forever!"
    --D'Artagnan

    Check out my latest project:

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Leamington, UK
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Not really. It's page 114 I'm talking about really. It gives the example of two mouse teams teaming up to attack a single opposing team. It doesn't seem to explain what happens if there's a second or third opposing team.

    I'll try re-reading it again later once I'm a bit more chilled-out. It's late in the day and my brain is hurting.

    Crow
    Wayne Peters
    Senior Artist
    Blitz Games, Leamington

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    N Y C
    Posts
    14,398
    Rep Power
    3646

    Default

    Declare targets after you announce your actions. Independent actions help independent actions. Versus actions help versus actions.

    I don't think there's much more to it.
    "Athos—Porthos, farewell till we meet again! Aramis, adieu forever!"
    --D'Artagnan

    Check out my latest project:

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Leamington, UK
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Yes, I understand about declaring targets and which actions help which.

    My problem is that in my example, the mice are completely ignoring Weasel team A for this volley. Do Weasel team A's actions go completely unopposed?

    Crow
    Wayne Peters
    Senior Artist
    Blitz Games, Leamington

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Olavsman Cave
    Posts
    5,641
    Rep Power
    1576

    Default

    Attack versus Feint means that the attacker gets to roll unopposed. So Weasel Team A can attack whichever Mouse Team it wants at Ob 0. Weasel Team A's action beats the actions of both Mouse Teams.

    As far as Weasel Team B goes, we have no idea, because we don't know what action it selected. If it chose Attack, then it help Weasel Team A with its Ob 0 attack against whichever Mouse Team it chooses.

    If it chose Defend, then the Mice Teams get an Ob 0 attack against it.

    If they chose Maneuver, then the Mice Teams get an Ob 0 attack against Weasel Team B, and Weasel Team B gets an Ob 0 Maneuver against the Mice Teams; Weasel Team B may spend its successes to buy effects against either Mouse Team.

    If Weasel Team B chose Feint, then it makes a Versus Test against the Mice Teams.

    I corner him and stab him in the face!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Leamington, UK
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    I think I was too specific in saying that the Mice are feinting.

    I'm not trying to figure out wether an action is independent or opposed.
    I'm not trying to figure out who's targetting who.

    I'm trying to figure out what Weasel Team A does because nobody is opposing them in this specific volley.

    The mice are concentrating on Weasel Team B. If Weasel Team A performs an action (nomatter what that action is) against either of the mice teams, do the rules run as normal or do Weasel team A get completely unopposed rolls or independent rolls at Ob0 - depending on their attack?

    I appreciate that some actions allow an unopposed roll anyway. I'm more concerned with rolls that would ordinarily be opposed because nobody is actually opposing them in this instance.

    Going back to my example, both mice teams are feinting. Let's say Weasel team B are manoeuvering. We know how to resolve that. Both sides get an independent test at Ob 0. The mice get an extra dice due to being helped by the other team.

    All well and good.

    That leaves Weasel team A. Let's say they are feinting against Mouse team B. Do I treat it as Feint vs Feint (remember the mice are feinting against the other Weasel team) and perform the versus test as normal? Or, as the mice are ignoring them, do they simply get an Ob0 roll instead of the versus test?

    Crow
    Wayne Peters
    Senior Artist
    Blitz Games, Leamington

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Flushing, NYC
    Posts
    1,463
    Rep Power
    494

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scarecrow View Post
    I'm not trying to figure out wether an action is independent or opposed.
    I'm not trying to figure out who's targetting who.

    I'm trying to figure out what Weasel Team A does because nobody is opposing them in this specific volley.

    The mice are concentrating on Weasel Team B. If Weasel Team A performs an action (nomatter what that action is) against either of the mice teams, do the rules run as normal or do Weasel team A get completely unopposed rolls or independent rolls at Ob0 - depending on their attack?
    Attack, Defend, and Maneuver all have independent effects--Attack reduces the opponent's disposition, Defend rebuilds the team's disposition, Maneuver successes can be spent on tangible advantages--so the unopposed Weasel team will get the independent effects against whichever mouse team it chooses to target. The only action about which I am unsure in this situation is Feint, but I think the result would be it functions either as an Attack or the team just loses that action (I prefer the latter ruling).

    Am I misunderstanding your question or being unclear in my answer?
    Daniel H.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Olavsman Cave
    Posts
    5,641
    Rep Power
    1576

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scarecrow View Post
    Let's say they are feinting against Mouse team B. Do I treat it as Feint vs Feint (remember the mice are feinting against the other Weasel team) and perform the versus test as normal? Or, as the mice are ignoring them, do they simply get an Ob0 roll instead of the versus test?
    As I said in the last post, if Weasel Team B is Feinting, and both Mouse Teams are Feinting, then Weasel Team B's Feint is versus the Feint rolled by the Mice Teams.

    I corner him and stab him in the face!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •